Music Industry News Network [09-14-2004]




September 23-25 Nashville Conference to feature Steve Earle, Mindy Smith, Mavis Staples, Delbert McClinton, Dave Alvin, Jay Farrar, Slaid Cleaves, Billy Joe Shaver, Tift Merritt, Junior Brown, Tony Joe White with Shelby Lynne, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Anne McCue, Buddy Miller, Tres Chicas, Michelle Shocked, Darrell Scott, Radney Foster, and dozens of others

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- The Americana Music Association (AMA) is gearing up for next week’s Americana Music Association Conference, scheduled for September 23 - 25 (next week) at the Nashville Convention Center during the 2004 Americana Conference. In terms of performers, panelists and registration, this year’s AMA event represents a quantum leap from last year’s conference.

Confirmed to perform the Americana Honors & Awards, a keystone feature of the AMA Conference to be held Friday, September 24 at 7 p.m., are Steve Earle, Mindy Smith, Tony Joe White & Shelby Lynne, Jason Ringenberg, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Chris Hillman (with Herb Pedersen, Bernie Leadon and Al Perkins), Mavis Staples. Pete Anderson & Michelle Shocked and Slaid Cleaves with Ray Wylie Hubbard. The show will honor merit and achievement within the Americana music genre with five annual awards in the categories of Artist, Album, Song, Instrumentalist and the newly created New/Emerging artist of the year. Five additional achievement awards will be presented during the show to individuals who have been tremendously influential to the Americana genre and industry. Jim Lauderdale will serve as host for the event.

The awards show has already created numerous highlights in its first two years including performances by Johnny & June Carter Cash, Kris Kristofferson, Gillian Welch, Allison Moorer, Kathleen Edwards, Ricky Skaggs, Rodney Crowell and many others. Emmylou Harris, John Prine, Billy Joe Shaver and John Carter Cash are among those who have also been in attendance to receive awards during the first two shows.

This year Loretta Lynn and Mindy Smith each received three award nominations this year, followed by Rodney Crowell and Slaid Cleaves with two nominations each. Nominees for album of the year include Loretta Lynn - Van Lear Rose (Interscope); Mindy Smith - One Moment More (Vanguard); Rodney Crowell – Fate’s Right Hand (DMZ/Epic) and Slaid Cleaves - Wishbones (Philo.) Nominees for Artist of the Year include Allison Moorer, Jim Lauderdale, Loretta Lynn and Patty Griffin.

Evening showcases for the AMA Conference will to held at the Mercy Lounge, Station Inn and 12th & Porter. Artists selected to perform at evening showcases or daytime slots during the conference include Adrienne Young & Little Sadie, Anne McCue, Arthur Godfrey, Asleep at the Wheel, the Avett Brothers, Bernie Leadon, Billy Joe Shaver, BR549, Bruce Robison, Buddy Miller, Burrito Deluxe, Dan Colehour, Darrell Scott, Dave Alvin, Delbert McClinton, the Greencards, Grey DeLisle, Gurf Morlix, Jackie Greene, James Talley, Jay Farrar, Jon Dee Graham, Junior Brown, Kate Campbell, King Wilkie, Lori McKenna, Mando Saenz, Mark Erelli, Melonie Cannon, Michelle Shocked, Moot Davis & Pete Anderson, Mountain Heart, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Shawn Camp, Tift Merritt, Todd Snider, Tom Gillam, Tony Furtado, Tres Chicas and Troy Johnson. The complete performance schedule with dates, venues and times is available online at .

In addition, the following new and emerging artists have been selected from more than 500 submissions received this year and will be been offered a performance slot at this year’s event. They include Ben Weaver, Boris McCutcheon, Carlos Guitarlos, the Hosty Duo, Jen Cass, Jenny Whiteley, Korby Lenker, the Mammals, Nels Andrews and Otis Gibbs. Alternates include AJ Roach, Audrey Auld, Greg Spradlin and Polecat Creek.

The first Americana Trade Show will be presented during the 2004 Americana Conference. 50 companies have signed up to exhibit their goods or services during the event. A full list of confirmed exhibitors is available at in the ‘Conference’ section.

This year’s Songwriter workshop will feature Bruce Robison, Radney Foster and Cowboy Jack Clement and will be moderated by Frank Liddell of Carnival Music. The 90 minute session will feature performances, stories and insight on how to make a living as a songwriter and Americana artist without having to compromise your music. Additional panel topics this year will cover non-traditional marketing, technology & digital music, touring, management, DVD production/sales, publicity, radio and more.

Additional panelists scheduled to participate this year include John Grady (Sony Music Nashville), Kevin Welk (Welk Music Group), Bob Harris (BBC Radio), Ken Levitan (Vector Management), Jon Kerzer (Microsoft/MSN), Gregg Ogozelec (Napster), Scott Lindy (Sirius Satellite Radio), Lee Logan, Jessie Scott (XM Satellite Radio), Al Bunetta (Oh Boy Records), Steve Fishell (Sugar Hill Records), Casey Verbeck (Partners In Music), Pete Anderson (Little Dog Records), Tim O’Brien (artist), Scott Robinson (Dualtone Music Group), Ray Benson (Asleep at the Wheel), Steve Day (Skaggs Family Records), Andria Lisle (MOJO), Bob Mehr (Chicago Reader), Scott Crawford (Harp Magazine), Paul Sexton (London Times/Billboard UK), Paul Fenn (ASGARD, UK), Doug Wiley (RED Distribution), Phyllis Stark (Billboard), Hakan Olsson (Rootsy, Sweden), David Ross (Music Row Publications) and many more.

The 2004 Americana Music Association Conference is sponsored in part by Gibson/Baldwin, BMI, Welk Music Group, The First Amendment Center, echomusic, No Depression, SESAC, Lost Highway, Emergent Music Marketing, Harp Magazine, Paste Magazine, ASCAP, Rounder Records, Proper Music UK, Dreamworks, Americdisc, Gudvi, Sussman & Oppenheim, Merlefest, Dualtone Music Group, Haber Corporation, Texas Music Magazine, Union Planters, Music Row Publications, Oh Boy, Sonicbids, Al Moss Promotion, Blue Corn Music, Western Beat, Loeb & Loeb, Songlines, Singer Magazine, the Musician’s Atlas, American Songwriter, New West Records, Performing Songwriter, Woodsongs, Discmakers, International Songwriting Competition and Gritz.

Registration for the 2004 Americana Music Association Conference, including the Americana Honors & Awards show, is still available online at


Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.