Music Industry News Network [03-07-2018]



The Gateway Chamber Orchestra (GCO) is proud to present The Family Series: The Amazing Dulcimer with Stephen Seifert.

Last year the GCO performed Conni Ellisor's Blackberry Winter featuring the world’s leading dulcimer soloist, Stephen Seifert. This year the GCO is tackling the regional premiere of the sequel, Broad Band of Light.

Based on Stephen's extensive fan base as a seasoned performer, Broad Band of Light is one of the only fan-based commissions of an orchestral piece in existence. People from all over donated to have a new piece written for Stephen, and the Tucson Symphony premiered it.

"In the fall of 2016 we were delighted to work with Stephen and Conni for the first time in performances of Blackberry Winter," explained Gregory Wolynec, Gateway Chamber Orchestra Music Director. "After those concerts we talked about performing the sequel she had written for Steve and the Tucson Symphony. We are delighted to present the Tennessee premiere and second performance of this exciting piece for mountain dulcimer and orchestra."

"When I first met with Steve to discuss writing this piece he was, above all else, interested in pushing the boundaries of what a dulcimer could do," recalled composer Conni Ellisor. "A beautiful tender instrument with a proud American folk tradition, the dulcimer is fairly primitive, but Steve has amassed technique far beyond the norm. He was interested in moving into styles unfamiliar and a little challenging. It is my hope that we have created that with this piece and that it moves in many moods and textures, much like the many different colors in a broad band of light."

The Family Series: Winters Patent Law presents
The Amazing Dulcimer with Stephen Seifert

Saturday, March 17th, 2018 11:00 a.m.

Conni Ellisor - Broad Band of Light


The Franklin Theatre

419 Main St
Franklin, TN 37264

Buy tickets here:

The next GCO performance at the Franklin Theatre:

The Masterworks Series presents


Monday, April 30th, 2018 7:30 p.m.

Felix Mendelssohn – Overture to Paulus
Aaron Jay Kernis – Musica Celestis
Jean Sibelius – Symphony No. 3 in C

About The Gateway Chamber Orchestra

Conducted by Gregory Wolynec, the GCO was formed in 2008 and is recognized as one of the leading new American ensembles. Comprised of professional musicians from Middle Tennessee and beyond, the GCO specializes in presenting traditional masterworks, overlooked treasures, and contemporary American compositions. The GCO’s recordings have received critical acclaim in publications such as the American Record Guide and Fanfare Magazine. Engaging 5,000 Middle Tennessee students annually with classical music through free performances, innovative educational outreach, and interactive Children’s Concerts, the GCO is committed to building new audiences for tomorrow. Funding is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts and the Tennessee Arts Commission. Visit to learn more.



Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.