Music Industry News Network [03-01-2016]

Songwriters Showcase At SXSW, Presented By USA Songwriting Competition


USA Songwriting Competition is presenting a songwriters showcase during Austin's SXSW Music and Media Conference, long recognized as the largest musician conference and festival. USA Songwriting Competition is bringing five outstanding music acts:
Katie Stump (USA Songwriting Competition 1st Prize Winner, Lyrics)
Jasmine Crowe (USA Songwriting Competition, Honorable Mention Winner)
Grant Maloy Smith
Shani Rose

The showcase is hosted by USA Songwriting Competition's representative Paul Adragna, a singer/songwriter.

This will mark USA Songwriting Competition's 14th Annual Songwriters Showcase during SXSW (SXSW Music and Media Conference), to be held on Friday, March 18, 2016, from 7.00pm to 10.30pm at Mozart's Coffee Roasters, 3826 Lake Austin Blvd, Austin, TX (512) 477-2900. There is no cover charge and no SXSW badge is needed to attend the showcase. Past venues included Borders Books and Music and Barnes and Noble bookstores.

The 21st Annual USA Songwriting Competition is currently accepting entries. Sponsors are: PRS Guitars, Sony, D'Addario Strings, Recording Magazine, New Music Weekly, Loggins Promotion, Airplay Access, Audio-Technica, Full Compass Music Stores, Presonus, Sonoma Wireworks, IK Multimedia, MasteringTheMix, Intellitouch Tuners, Sweetwater, Landr, etc.

USA Songwriting Competition has a long history of having winners getting recording and publishing contracts, have their songs placed on the charts as well as having their songs placed on film and television. The current winner – Distant Cousins, a Folk/Rock Band from Los Angeles have their winning song placed on American Idol in January. The song was also placed in box office hit movie "This Is Where I Leave You" starring Jason Bateman and Tina Fey. The 2014 winners Justine and Kerris Dorsey had their winning song “Best Worst Day Ever” placed in box office hit movie “Alexander and the Terrible” starring Steve Carell and Jennifer Garner. The 2013 Top winner - American Authors (songwriters: Dave Rublin, Shepherd Goodman, Aaron Accetta, James Adam Shelley, Matthew Sanchez and Zachary Barnett) hit #1 on the Billboard Charts and went Double Platinum, selling over 2 million records, won the Overall Grand Prize with their song "Believer". They have been signed to Island Records.

The top two winners of 2011: Nenna Yvonne and Alexander Cardinale have been signed to Interscope Records after their win.

Songs may be entered in 15 different categories including Pop, Rock/Alternative, R&B and Country. Entries are accepted from now through May 27, 2016. For more information, visit:


Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.