Music Industry News Network [09-30-2010]

JYJ Announces "The Beginning"



JYJ, which includes three main members from arguably the biggest selling male vocal group in Asia TVXQ has teamed up with A-list US producers Kanye West and Rodney Jerkins for their global album debut "The Beginning." The title of the album is synonymous with their journey to date and marks a first for the group to release an English language album.

JYJ has an enormous fan base worldwide and the trio made it to the Guinness Book Records in 2008 and 2009 for having the World's Largest Official Fan Club at over 800,000 members in Seoul alone and being The Most Photographed Celebrities in the World shot an estimated 500 million times in magazines, albums jackets, and commercials from the time of their debut in 2003 to May 19 2009 with their former group.

The first single from the album "Ayyy Girl" is produced by Kanye West who lends his vocals to the song. It also features the maestro of spoken word, Malik "The Poet" Yusef. It's a song that depicts the quest of seeking that perfect girl but when you find her, things are never quite as perfect as you envision it to be.

Besides the catchy first single by Kanye West, "The Beginning" also sees original compositions by top music producer Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins. The two tracks are "Empty" and "Be My Girl".

"I'm really glad to work with JYJ on their debut album. It's all about the East meeting the West these days and the world is becoming a melting pot of various cultures. To have Kanye and myself champion the cause of unifying the world through the international language of music and introducing top artistes from one end of the globe to this end in America makes this a very special project to us," says Rodney Jerkins.

Other than the creative collaborations with the US top producers onboard, JYJ who has been dabbling in songwriting since their teenage days, have also contributed a song each to the album. The tracks are "Still in Love" ( Kim Jaejung),"I Can Soar" (Kim Junsu) and"I Love You" (Park Yuchun).

"We have faced many challenges in these recent months but are glad to complete an album which the boys are extremely proud of. "The Beginning" is a product of their blood, sweat and tears, and they hope fans will see the efforts that went into making this excellent album. As a partaker in their journey, I am so proud of them at this moment for what they have achieved." Says Mr. Baek Chang Ju, the trio's manager and CEO of C-JeS Entertainment.

The album comprises of seven tracks and three remixes. Jae Chong, one of Asia's leading music producers, has also contributed a track on it and played a big role in organizing and producing the overall project with the three members.

"The Beginning" was produced by Show Shop Entertainment and will be distributed by Warner Music worldwide. The album will be released on CD & digital formats from October 12. There will also be a special limited edition "Luxury Package," which will be numbered and limited to only 99,999 sets.

The first single "Ayyy Girl" with Kanye West will be made available via iTunes for download on Oct. 19.


Copyright © 1997-2018 MusicDish LLC, all rights reserved. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.