Connect with MusicDish on
MusicDish Network Advertising

Subscribe to the Free MusicDish Network Buzz Newsletter...


MusicDish Network Headlines | Search News | Submit Your News | RSS

Guitarist Randy Ellefson Re-Releases Debut Album, "The Firebard"

07-04-2014 | Music Releases

JULY 8, 2014 (GAITHERSBURG, MARYLAND) Ten years after releasing his debut instrumental album, rock guitarist Randy Ellefson has re-released THE FIREBARD after re-recording virtually all of it. Like the original, he is the sole performer. Ellefson has cited numerous rookie mistakes he wanted to fix to make the album comparable with his subsequent four albums, raising the sonic quality. He served as producer, recording engineer and co-mixed the album.

The list of improvements includes live drums instead of a drum machine, some altered melodies, a new guitar solo on "Chimes of Passion", and occasional use of a 12-string acoustic and a guitar synth for texture. Most of the performances are very similar so that longtime fans won't object to Ellefson's updates. Ellefson also avoids the perpetual stereo rhythm guitars on the original release in favor or alternating that with only one rhythm guitar for better variety. Similarly, he used double-tracked, stereo leads guitars on the original but now sticks with just one lead up the middle, making it easier to hear the intricate riffs he's known for. The mixing and mastering is also vastly improved.

The original release is no longer available. The album's full track listing is:
1. Legends
2. Weekend Warrior
3. Accolade
4. Into the Act
5. Chimes of Passion
6. Still at Large
7. Motif Operandi
8. A Far Cry
9. Epic
10. Journeys

THE FIREBARD is available now via, and iTunes. The first single, "Legends", can be downloaded at this location: More free mp3s can be downloaded by joining Randy Ellefson free fan club online.

Visit for free mp3s, videos, guitar tablature, articles, and the latest news on Randy Ellefson.



Printer friendly

Tag It Advertising Network

Copyright 2018 MusicDish, LLC, all rights reserved. All pictures, logos, and articles are registered and copyrighted to their respective owners. Text, graphics, and HTML code are protected by US and International Copyright Laws, and may not be copied, reprinted, published, translated, hosted, or otherwise distributed by any means without explicit permission.